Phase 1

Phase One of phonics is designed to help develop children’s speaking and listening.  The main aim is to train the ear to hear lots of different sounds.   It is broken down into seven aspects or areas.  They do not need to be done in any particular order and should be revisited often.  Phase one is taught in Robin class; however, Phase One and the activities are used throughout infant school.

The seven aspects are:

  1. Environmental Sounds
  2. Instrumental Sounds
  3. Body Percussion
  4. Rhythm and Rhyme
  5. Alliteration
  6. Voice Sounds
  7. Oral Blending and Segmenting
We have created packs for each aspect with activities for you to try at home.